This 17th-century mansion is in the Mazarin district, near Place des Quatre Dauphins and Cours Mirabeau in the heart of Aix.
It was built in 1656 to the plans of the Flemish architect Jean Daret (1613-1668) and listed in 1943. The work was carried out by the master masons Jean Jaubert and Laurent Vallon and the decoration by the master plasterworker Jacques Escursan, assisted by the surveyor Louis Cundier, the master carpenters Augustin Reynaud and Nicoles Menard, the sculptor Jacques Fosse and the painter Jacques Macadre.
The mansion boasts a vast stair well with a wrought iron Louis XV handrail among the most elegant in the Mazarin district.
Its three communicating drawing rooms, Les Salons d'Olivary, tastefully decorated with piers and plasterwork, and Regency-style wall hangings in Lyons silk, have been designed for receptions.
The leafy French gardens of 700 square metres, with avenues of box trees, a listed pond and a bowl-shaped fountain, add to its attractions. In 1798 the old Aix Parliamentarian d'Olivary family became the owners of this charming residence. The mansion still belongs to their descendants and has thus been in the same family for more than 200 years.
Since 1984 it has been open to the public for exhibitions, concerts, receptions, conferences and historic tours.