Situated at the top of Cours Mirabeau, the chapel stands on the site of the former Carmelite convent (1625), then outside the city walls it was rebuilt between 1695 and 1701 to the plans of Thomas Veyrier who was also responsible for its decoration. His uncle was a pupil of Pierre Puget, architect of the Vieille Charité chapel in Marseille which had one of the first oval cupolas in the region.
The Oblates' Chapel also has an elliptical cupola over the nave which is in the shape of a Latin cross, without side aisles, accentuating the impression of height. Bathed in natural light from a lantern skylight and four œil-de-bœuf windows, it rests on composite pilasters with original decoration.
Two bas-reliefs by Thomas Veyrier which originally adorned the high altar are now kept in the Tapestry Museum.
The frontage of the Oblats was redesigned by Laurent Vallon in 1697, and enhanced by a flight of steps. The chapel was listed in 1911.